Tesla Cybercab Live: Austin Launch Puts 45 Driverless Taxis In Focus
Tesla Cybercab live coverage: Austin launch reports point to 45 steering-wheel-free taxis, public Austin rides, NHTSA scrutiny, app booking, early fare and geofence claims, rider …
Tesla's Cybercab night has started with the headline the company wanted: purpose-built autonomous taxis are now part of the Austin robotaxi story. The first wave of reports from the Associated Press, The Wall Street Journal, Chron, and MarketWatch say Tesla is showing or launching steering-wheel-free Cybercabs in Austin, with the vehicles positioned as the next step beyond the Model Y robotaxis that have carried the early service. This article sits inside the Tesla.rocks FSD & AI coverage stream and will be updated as new Cybercab details come in. Live status, first wave Updated 5:55 PM Mountain, Sept. 3, 2026. This is an active liveblog. Figures and availability language may change as Tesla, riders, reporters, and regulators add detail through the evening. What is confirmed so far The Cybercab is being presented as a two-seat autonomous vehicle with no steering wheel and no pedals. Multiple outlets report the Austin event is invite-heavy, with Tesla not using the broad livestream cadence it has used for many major product moments. WSJ and Chron are both carrying the same fleet frame: 45 Cybercabs and 420 autonomous Tesla vehicles registered or operating in Texas. The core technical bet remains Tesla's camera-only autonomy approach, rather than the lidar-and-radar stack used by several robotaxi rivals. WSJ says rides can now be booked through Tesla's Robotaxi app, while Teslarati reports Austin app screens now show Cybercab-or-Model Y vehicle selection. The Verge reports children under 13 are currently barred from Cybercab rides and Tesla has opened a form for future Robotaxi fleet and infrastructure opportunities. Teslarati says the fleet-interest form is organized around Cybercab purchasing, mobility hubs and infrastructure, event collaboration, and other deployment interest. The News AP's dispatch frames the launch as a direct test of whether riders will accept a taxi that gives them no physical control once the ride begins. That is the defining psychological difference between Cybercab and the Model Y robotaxi experience. A Model Y still looks and feels like a normal car, even when the rider is not driving it. Cybercab removes the fallback cues: no steering wheel, no pedals, and no driver seat as a mental safety blanket. The Wall Street Journal reports that 45 Cybercabs have been added to Tesla's Texas fleet, bringing the reported autonomous-vehicle count in the state to 420. WSJ also says Cybercab rides can now be booked through Tesla's Robotaxi app. Chron published the same 45-Cybercab figure and reported that Elon Musk said the company would "flood Austin" with the vehicles. The exact operating scope still needs sharper confirmation: whether every ride is broadly public or still invitation-limited tonight, what service area is active, and how Tesla defines remote assistance. MarketWatch focused on the investor setup. Tesla shares were up roughly 5.4% Thursday ahead of the event, and analysts were watching whether Tesla would provide enough operational detail to support the stock move. A Cybercab photo opportunity is valuable. A Cybercab service map, vehicle-count ramp, fare structure, remote-support policy, and utilization target would be much more valuable. A newer Verge event report adds two important guardrails. First, the 45-Cybercab number is a registration figure, not proof that all 45 vehicles are carrying public passenger trips tonight. Second, Tesla's own ride rules still limit who can use the vehicle, including a current ban on riders under 13. That makes the launch meaningful, but still controlled. 8:09 PM Mountain update: The late-evening app signal is now more concrete. Teslarati reports the Robotaxi booking flow shows riders a two-seat Cybercab option beside a four-seat Model Y option in Austin, turning the launch from a single-vehicle reveal into an early mixed-fleet test. The same report cites accessibility-oriented details including lower seating, assistive-device storage, and braille on handles. WIRED separately reported 51 Cybercabs in Tesla's Texas operating registrations before the event, which conflicts with the 45-Cybercab figure carried by WSJ, Chron, and The Verge; Tesla.rocks is keeping the headline count at 45 until the discrepancy is reconciled. 8:50 PM Mountain update: Reuters adds the cleanest late regulatory and access readout so far: Tesla says Cybercab rides are available in limited areas of Austin, while NHTSA says it is in contact with Tesla and evaluating the situation. Reuters also says Tesla has not specified whether Cybercab rides are paid or whether any Austin Robotaxi app user can secure one. That keeps the launch in a meaningful-but-constrained category until Tesla discloses a fuller geofence, eligibility rule, and fare policy. 9:00 PM Mountain update: A late WSJ readout adds two useful business-and-regulatory markers. The report says Tesla has capacity to build more than 125,000 Cybercabs a year, roughly a Cybertruck-scale annual lane, but also says Tesla has not yet filed for a federal exemption that would let Cybercabs bypass safety rules written around conventional driver controls. That combination is the tension in the launch: Tesla is signaling manufacturable scale while the regulatory paper trail for steering-wheel-free deployment still has to catch up. 10:00 PM Mountain update: The newest public readout still points to a controlled launch, not a fully open Austin service flip. The Verge characterizes the event as unusually muted, with no broad livestream, restricted journalist access, and continued uncertainty around how many registered Cybercabs will immediately carry passengers. That matters because Tesla now has enough visible launch hardware to validate the concept, but the investor and rider questions have shifted to ordinary availability, repeatable dispatch, and how transparent Tesla will be about remote support and safety performance. 11:00 PM Mountain update: Business Insider adds the sharpest public-access claim yet, reporting that Tesla VP of AI Ashok Elluswamy closed the Thursday keynote by telling attendees that anyone could take Cybercab rides and that the service was open to the entire public. The same report says Tesla did not disclose the initial public Cybercab fleet size, so the practical access question is now more specific: whether ordinary Austin users can consistently hail a Cybercab inside the limited service area, how long dispatch takes, and whether Tesla publishes trip-completion or remote-assistance metrics. 6:00 AM Mountain update, Sept. 4: Morning coverage has moved the story from launch-night ambiguity toward a limited-service readout. Axios says Cybercab is now available for Austin ride-hailing, while still describing availability as limited and repeating the 45-Cybercab, 420-Tesla-robotaxi fleet frame. AP, WSJ, Business Insider, and Reuters-linked coverage all point in the same direction: Cybercab is public-facing now, but the useful next disclosure is still practical access. Tesla has not yet published a full geofence, fare rules, ordinary-user success rate, remote-assistance metrics, or a federal exemption path for a vehicle without conventional controls. Tesla. 12:00 PM Mountain update, Sept. 4: The regulatory question has hardened. A fresh AP follow-up says NHTSA has opened an investigation into Tesla's steering-wheel-free Cybercabs one day after Austin rides began, with the agency auditing the technical data behind Tesla's self-certification for vehicles without steering wheels, mirrors, or brake pedals. MarketWatch's midday readout adds market and operations context: Tesla shares were down about 4.5% Friday, public Cybercab rides were set to begin in a restricted Austin area at 5 p.m. Central, Tesla said unsupervised robotaxis had logged 1 million miles, and the Austin robotaxi fleet stood at 128 units. 6:00 PM Mountain update, Sept. 4: The public-ride window appears to have moved from scheduled access to early ride operations. Tesla North, citing the official Tesla Robotaxi X account, says the public Cybercab opening was moved up from 5 p.m. Central to 2 p.m. Central because of demand, while still noting that Cybercab assignment is not guaranteed on every request. Not a Tesla App reports the first public rides are now underway, says Cybercab is cheaper than ordering a Model Y, and claims Cybercabs can be hailed across Tesla's full Austin Robotaxi geofence, recently expanded to about 264 square miles. Treat the fare and geofence details as Tesla-community reporting until Tesla publishes its own fare table and map, but the story has moved from "scheduled to open" to "public ride reports are live.rocks is relying on credible public X-linked web reporting. Cybercab Watchlist Question First-wave signal Why it matters How many Cybercabs? 45 reported in the Texas fleet. Scale claims need a starting denominator. Who can ride? WSJ says Cybercab rides can now be booked through Tesla's Robotaxi app; Teslarati says Austin app screens show Cybercab or Model Y selection; Business Insider quotes Tesla saying rides are open to the public; Tesla North says public rides were moved up to 2 p.m. Central; Reuters says Tesla has not specified how broadly any Austin app user can secure one. Robotaxi economics depend on ordinary paid usage, not only curated rides. What is the safety model? No onboard controls, camera-only autonomy, with The Verge reporting remote-operator monitoring and AP reporting a new NHTSA investigation into the control-free design. Regulators and riders will judge the backup plan as much as the demo. What does Tesla disclose? Tesla says rides are available in limited areas of Austin; Not a Tesla App reports the full Austin Robotaxi geofence is about 264 square miles, but Tesla has not published a formal map or ride metrics. The market needs completion rates, interventions, geofence boundaries, and uptime. Can it scale? WSJ reports Cybercab annual production capacity above 125,000 units, but no federal controls-exem